Calling all Educators! Who's using Food Computers in schools?

Hi all - checking in to find the teachers, educators, & classrooms amongst our #nerdfarmers!

We’d like to get an Education-specific thread going to get folks in one place who might have questions or updates specific to building a PFC in the classroom.

We’re getting some details together for our next education initiative, so I’d love for this thread to be a starting point to chat more! cheers!

Hi,

I’m a teacher following the progress of the Food Computer project. I haven’t implemented anything in the classroom but am awaiting the release of the new version of the Food Computer. As it stands, it looks a little beyond my financial/skill/time resources.

I see a lot of potential for this project in schools as it aligns perfectly with the maker/STEM movement. It also fulfills a desire for projects to be focused around real world problems associated with sustainability and social responsibility.

Brendon

Hello everyone!
I am in the process of founding a small nonprofit called Workshop Garden Technologies, aiming to share the OpenAg technology with nearby students to foster their love for technology and agriculture. We are currently, for example, talking with a local educational farm to share the technology with classes of middle and high-school students.
We’re wrapping up construction of our PFC unit, and its looking great! We can’t wait to share your technology with the world.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to see our progress!
@workshopgarden & www.facebook.com/workshopgarden

Hi!
Our school will be building a food server this year for our cross-curricular project across multiple grades (computer science, engineering, biology, chemistry, earth science, humanities, math - the list goes on and on!) . Aside from the classroom specific learnings, we want to use it to grow food (fruit and veggies) that we eat for lunch, and as a platform for student research.