Open Agriculture Foundation Chapters

As promised we are launching this topic to explore what it means to be an Open Agriculture Foundation Chapter. In reference to our medium post :
The foundation is exploring the idea of Open Agriculture Foundation Chapters (inspired and initiated by multiple interested community members) and we will be working to support pilot chapters in 2017.
Interested in forming a chapter? Have ideas of what that should mean? The Foundation will open up a thread on the forum and have more to share on that later.

Please call out if you are interested in forming a chapter, what your current state of development is, what you envision a chapter being and how we could support you

-The Open Agriculture Foundation Team

MVP - Future of Process

Hi OpenAg Foundation,

First off, congratulations on the formation of the nonprofit and its subsidiary!

I am a college student studying Urban Planning and Interaction Design, and I believe that the foundation team is doing a brilliant job in its efforts to champion the future generation of #nerdfarmers

Over the past few years as a professional and student, I have assembled a (small, but growing) network of established community leaders and professionals with education, finance, and nonprofit experience.

We are currently developing our advisory board and strategic plan, but we have already secured two schools as pilot sites (LAUSD, SMMUSD).

The Open Agriculture Foundation can help support our team through fiscal sponsorship and mentorship. Additionally, we plan to fundraise and host events (i.e. exhibits, seminars, competitions) that will further OpenAg research and affirm the values of urban farming, sustainable design, and community.

I think it would be a good idea for chapters to offer membership options that can include the following benefits:

Access to events
Partnership, mentorship, and volunteer opportunities
Education, training, and certification programs