Openag-ui web app build diary

Hey OpenAg friends,
I’m working on a little web app that can control Food Computers. This is my build diary. Here’s the idea:

• This app will be a basic dashboard for Food Computers, aimed at makers and tinkers. It will expose all the basic controls, along with useful diagnostic features like data export.
  • A hopeful goal is to serve this web app from the Raspberry Pi itself. This way, every Food Computer will have a user interface right out of the box.
  • In addition, we can have have other apps that use the same REST API (like the Unity app, for example), designed for specific users (e.g. “schools” or “scientists”).

I’m just getting started. Step 1 is getting a “blink test” up and running.

All the code is on Github if you want to follow along (but I don’t recommend trying to run it yet :slight_smile: ): https://github.com/OpenAgInitiative/openag-ui.

Hi Gordon,

I played with your code on Saturday. I like the method : generating displays. My plan is to rely on this to generate a web UI (similar to what I see on UBIDOTS). Would that fit?

@thomas at the moment, my priority is getting a “blink test” up and running. In other words, I’m prioritizing getting everything talking to everything.

Sensors -> Raspberry Pi
Raspberry Pi <-> Cloud
Raspberry Pi <-> UI
UI <-> Cloud

After that, my plan is to start working on a dashboard UI that can both read and write to the Food Computer (similar in concept to what you’ve posted above). We’ve actually got a JS framework for this already, along with design files for how those sensor readings should look. Fun stuff!

Wonderfull. Will follow this with attention.

Yesterday: got recipes posting from form to DB.
Today: working on getting tri-directional database sync working.

Yesterday: added helpers for push and pull between Raspberry Pi’s database and UI database, as well as the ability to clear the add recipe form.