Recommendations for Water Chiller?

Hi there,

I’m about to start building a food computer, and I’m very new to the whole process. There seems to be a lot of discussion around here about different kinds of water chillers, but there seem to be a huge range and I don’t really understand the pros/cons of different systems. I’m using the FC for an experiment, so it’s important to keep the water temperature pretty constant. What are the things I should be considering when looking for a water chiller? Any recommendations on ones that have worked well?

Thoughts on any of these options?

Thank you!

Reading sensor data
ACTUAL costs of computer from experience
Community Developed Mods

@ferguman could you post a link to what you used on your V1? I know it was costly but it did the job well if I remember right.

HUGE community need around developing a good water chilling solution. I think not only do most crops prefer cooler root zones than canopy temps but also you can use the same cooling systems for both applications. These systems are better than traditional HVAC because they don’t exchange internal air, which would immediately expel Co2 if you were controlling that.

Please keep us in the loop on what you decide!

Here is the chiller that my team purchased and used to chill the water in a V2 Food Computer. We had good luck with it growing Romaine lettuce. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0048IVBT4/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I’m glad this conversation got started again. @sagreen I had some time to review your links and wanted to share my thoughts.

1. $200 - 10L/min - Application:Cool a single 60W or 80W CO2 glass laser tube or below CO2 laser tube (emitting rate lower than 60%),and for 0.8KW / 1.5KW Spindle Cooling;It is suitable for small water cooling device.
  2. $130 - Description says intended for 55 gallon aquarium tanks.