Total Beginner in Arduino/ Raspberry PI Programming

Hi there,

I just recently bought all the components for PFC v1.0 and assembled it (I wanted to build v2.0 but it seems like I can upgrade my v1.0 to v2.0 so I decided to start with v1.0). It took 1+ month to build all the hardware stuff and now I’m moving on to the software part of it.
However, I don’t really understand the documentation at all. Been searching all over in the forum for a beginner’s guide but there doesn’t seem to be any. My experience with microcontroller is using arduino to light up a LED and move a servo motor. All the files are on Github page, but I don’t know exactly what to do with them, especially the raspberry pi.
That being said, can anyone here give me a step-by-step tutorial on the software part of PFC v1.0 (similar to the hardware guide)? I believe this will also benefit others who try to build it but got scared off by the complexity of the software. Thanks very much!

Hi @madesv. I am in the same boat as you. Very new to the software side of this and looking to learn how to get the PFC up and running.

I posted in the forum about this a few weeks ago and there is a nice thread of comments. @rbaynes mentioned that a new software release is coming and will include detailed instructions for installing.

I see, but I am actually building PFC 1.0 will it be backward compatible?

Thats a good question. I don’t know the answer.

@madesv good questions. The software is certainly the hardest part. Check out this roadmap that might give you some more insight into what’s going on with OpenAg with regards to software dev/V2.

@juhnke was successful at running the V2 software on his V1, Check out this thread.

As for a complete software install, I’m not 100% certain on which to use, perhaps @juhnke or @ferguman can help.

Thanks,
Peter.