Beginner questions: Is it possible to build a larger PFC sufficient for food needs?

Deleted this post, so typing this sentence in place of it.

“I’m a total beginner(…)but I don’t want to simply experiment with one”

If you are a total beginner you must start experimenting at some point. First to work out the quirks that come with every project. Then to make sure that your expectations were somewhat aligned with reality. There is a lot of talk about not needing pesticides and that growing hydroponically is completely pest-free, but depending on where you live you might have to change perspective.

Furthermore hydroponic systems are great for herbs and śalad. Fruits grow on trees and while it’s possible to grow trees hydroponically the risk might be higher, since time until harvest is longer.

From a smaller system it’s fairly easy to calculate area needed for your total needs. It will also give you a better view of the total costs and increase confidence. Being forced to throw away a crop session because of a simple mistake (or electrical failure) is never fun. Better to make those newbie mistakes in a smaller system than in a bigger one.

From what I have stumbled upon while researching hydroponics growing root vegetables is not cost-effective (compared to regular agriculture). Although I don’t have any sources so please check that out.

Lastly take note that while it’s faster to grow hydroponically it doesn’t take much to fail a crop.

Hey Enhacker, thank you so much for the reply!