Building, growing and designing in Riggi's "garden"

Hi everyone,

Some of you may or may not already know me. My name is Thimon Rotstejn, also known as Riggi by some of you already (you may call me either really) and I’m an Industrial Product Design student. I’m currently working during my internship on a Food Computer. I’d like to make use of this thread to post updates of my work (whatever I’m allowed to share of my work), to gather feedback and work together with you guys (and ofcourse document my work in the meantime).

Now to start this off, as I still am missing some of the parts however, I couldn’t really just wait around and do nothing so I decided to just write my own Arduino code with the components that I have. This way I don’t waste any time and I can get started with growing and designing as soon as possible.

The Arduino code that I wrote for this temporary Food Comuter tracks the time, gathers information from the water temperature sensor, ambient temperature and humidity sensor and from two water level sensors. The code also is able to control both the heat bed (to adjust the water temperature whenever necessary) and the light panel. Both the time and all the sensory data is currently displayed on an LCD with a very basic UI. Some footage of the LCD and of the water level system.

Now for some more pictures of everything!

A general overview of the electronics and the sensors.

The heated bed I’m using to heat up the water and the lighting.

Now it’s time to just put this all in a frame and start growing. The first thing I’ll try to grow is corn salad/mâche/etc. (scientific name: Valerianella Locusta). If any of you have grown this kind of lettuce and have any advice or if you have some general advice or if want to give me feedback or ask me any questions, they are all very welcome!