Contribution to Open Ag software framework

Hi Team,
I am a software engineer, I would like to contribute to Open Ag framework, and I had 4 RasPIs (Generation 2). However, I don’t have the food computer with me, Please let me know how can I support.

Thanks
Vijay

Do you have an Arduino Mega?
You can run openag_brain(the main ROS repo) with a RasPi and Arduino Mega.

I’d suggest starting with the wiki and also the openag_brain repo to begin researching.

Thanks, @spaghet, let me go thru the wiki. Meanwhile, i don’t have the Arduino Mega. Do I need to buy one for this prototype?

Currently, the firmware is made for the Arduino Mega, so you would need one to run anything.

It would also help to have the same sensors and actuators so that you can check that everything is running, or you could work on expanding the firmware library by using new sensors as well! One of the projects that’s been dangling is backwards compatibility with the PFC1 hardware so that might be a fun project.

I was asking the same question but noticed this thread was a little stale. I’ve been doing mostly web development work (Python & C#). I only have one of the $300 PFC variants built and on hand, is there anywhere else someone might recommend that I look to start contributing?

@bcbeidel We would love to have your help!

@webbhm @ferguman have been leading the dev efforts, but we’re working on a Polymer based UI with another gentlemen locally and will have some updates about that in the next week.

Anything in particular you’d like to help out with? One project we want to work on is a way to configure the Wi-Fi and register your device. I’d love to have something like this integrated:

I tried jasbur’s code and had problems. I haven’t tried other options yet, but it looks like there are several. Google: “raspberry pi ap iot configuration” and you should get some hits. Several starting points seem to be:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=204833