Cookware: here's a chef speaking

I would love this to be a category itself.
I’ve been following this initiative since I met @Caleb in the Basque Country, where about 12 people from different backgrounds gathered around a table wondering how could we cooperate worldwide and generate positive impact using food & gastronomy as a vehicle.

OpenAg. is a a community that is doing this in certain way.

As a cook I want to open and make available to this community my knowledge on ingredients, culinary arts, gastronomy, multisensorial experiences, flavors, aromas, textures and related topics.

How about starting with 2 discussion:

1. Do you guys think that chefs and culinary designers can contribute to this knowledge-sharing collective? how? I would like to hear sincere and reasoned “Yes” or “nos” . Whatever is welcome as long as there are arguments and constructive opinions

2. Is flavor/pleasure truly important when growing/transforming food?

@webbhm @wsnook

Thanks

My short answer is yes and yes.

In more detail: I’m interested in OpenAg primarily because of how it fits with my expectations of how the near future is likely to unfold–thinking about growing food in this way seems like a useful adaptation to climate change, industrial pollution, and increasing space exploration. Caleb talks about how many young people now see farming as an undesirable career. That’s due in part to the risks of unpredictable yields–or predictably bad yields–and hard working conditions. Indoor farming seems like part of the answer to reversing that trend and ensuring that farming continues to be a viable occupation. It has to be!