Experimenting with recipes: from 16 to 18 hours cycles

Dear all, I wanted to share a recent experience with digital recipes that has been terrific.
Last year, we did upload a recipe inspired in the Mediterranean weather, with light cycles of 16 hours, and plants grew fairly well but I didn’t have the impression that it was fast.

This January, I changed the recipe to light cycles of 18 hours and the speed of growth is just impressive. This is after 15 days up and running in the FC.

My question now is the following: is there a recommended max limit on light hours? Anyone here did ever try 20, 22 or 24 hours cycles?

I have no experience with the PFC yet but, speaking from general aeroponic research it seems people have a lot of success with shorter cycles (several hours of light with a short period of dark, multiple cycles per day). It may not replicate a real biome but, it might help with the speed of growth.

That’s the beauty of the PFC though. You can adjust the variables of your recipe until you get the best results. Keep in mind that speed doesn’t always mean better.

@Bkirkland thank you for your feedback. Agree, faster doesn’t mean better, but I would like to get to a point in which the PFC can grow plants faster and better :slight_smile:

@Caleb, @gordonb, @adrianlu, @JoshSinykin, @JamesO and all the nerdfarmers who have a PFC up and running, what’s your experience with digital recipes in terms of light cycles?

In general, it probably depends on the plant you’re growing as far as its light needs. Different frequencies are also needed for specific plant functions (which is why you see a lot talk of red, blue and infrared). Intensity of light also effects the way plants grow.

Instead of writing it all here, I’ll link a good reference article that can be applied to generic growth.

Cool! Many thanks for this link.