Food Server in Guadalajara, by MIT Enterprise Forum Mexico

Greetings fellow nerdfarmers! This is Erick from Guadalajara (mariachi sounds in the background). I’m a mechatronic engineer currently working in the OpenAg initiative brought here by the MIT Enterprise Forum. I’ve been working here for a while learning a lot from this site, now we are planning to expand our facilities along the country and build Food Server-type installations so people can use the technology and colaborate to create a lot of new recepies.

Design process
As no documentation of the original Food Server V2 has been released, we are aiming to design our own version of the installation and take the base of the PFC Brain software to manage all the components. We will be posting the state and process of this design so anybody can comment and take anything that could help their own building projects.

A little bit of what are we proposing right now: We are taking the measures of the 20ft container to fit six isolated modules from which three of them are for trays using RDWC in a horizontal configuration, while the other three spaces would be using Bato Buckets (Ebb and Flow). The reason why we are trying to have as much of independent modules with their own temperature, humidity, sensors, light and dose control; is so a high amount (up to six) researchers could setup their own experiments at the same time.

With the help of students and researchers of diverse institutions here in Guadalajara, Mexico; we are working in solutions to achieve the making of this space with its appropiate documentation.

This was more of a introduction of our work so I’m just not sure if I should take this same topic to post the next challanges and achievements of the design process or to open new ones for each area.

Cheers!

Floating Platforms for FoodServers

If you haven’t already read these threads, you might want to check them out:

1. Update from OpenAg - Please Read
  2. Getting the software up and running