Growing Veggies packed w/ Flavor & Nutrition

Hello, My name is Makena & I am new to the OpenAg Forum.

I am most curious about the breadth of vegetables, herbs, fruits, etc that you can grow in a PFC. This article helped answer that question and thought I would share it! Continuing the discussion from What can and what can't be grown?:

My next question: Are there limits to what you can grow that actually have a good flavor and nutrient profile? As an Registered Dietitian, I want to be able to recommend PFC veggie growing to my patients but only if they taste good & are packed with nutrients!

With the help of the research team at @ATBFarms, we are going to try to answer these practical questions as all of you are too! How exciting!

@PFCDietitian Some folks here will probably disagree, but I don’t think this project is a good fit for recommending to your patients at this time. It’s not so much a matter of what’s possible as of what’s reasonable and cost effective.

The current state of this project is that people are enthusiastic about future possibilities, experimenting with a variety of prototype designs, and sharing ideas. [edit: People are talking about possible ways of collecting and sharing data, but I can’t point you to a study on nutritional profiles from crops grown in food computers because, as far as I know, nobody has published one.] If you are interested in helping to develop things that your patients might be able to use some number of years down the road, you’ll probably find people here to collaborate with.

If you just want to grow some food, Caleb has spoken well of AeroGardens and DIY systems that you can learn how to build on youtube.

[edit: Here’s another post from Caleb earlier this year where he explained the general state of vertical farming and what kind of data OpenAg wants to collect]

@openag Could you speak to the current status of flavor and nutrition testing for crops grown in PFCs?