Mapping PAR Meter to Analog LDR

Hello hello nerd farmers!

I am a middle school science teacher. My students and I were able to get out hands on a high end PAR meter to measure the light intensity of the LED panels in our vertical hydroponics system. Given the expense, we have been trying to see if we can get some standard data of values within the system and compare them to the analog readouts from an LDR running on an Arduino sketch.

The goal is to derive an equation that will convert LDR values for this panel into PAR readings. We have four readings at the moment, but intend to gather more. The raw data is as follows

PAR meter readings: 770.1 , 530.8 , 294.1 , 105.2
Correlating LDR readings: 1104, 997, 985, 945

I have some very bright young people working on the math and I want to give them a chance to hash this out. I suspect this data set shows an exponential relationship. Any insight from the forum on how to derive the conversion equation so we can hand this off to the arduino? Thanks a bunch.

Measuring light power distribution in a specific frequency band is complicated. You need to understand the spectral response of your sensors and the spectral power distribution of your light source.

But, if you’re always using the same light source (i.e. the spectral power distribution is constant), you could probably make a pretty useful lookup table to translate from LDR (light dependent resistor?) measurements to PAR measurements without too much trouble. To vary the light intensity for making a table, you could use distance from the light source in an otherwise dark room, or you could experiment with photographic neutral density filters. Maybe you could fit the lookup table with a linear, quadratic, or exponential approximation function.

Here are a few threads from this forum with links to background information (scroll through all the comments):

Here are some additional links on measuring light from my own notes: