My experience building the MVP food computer

My experience building the MVP food computer

Hello all,

I finished build the building the MVP food computer and wanted to share my experience building it. Hopefully others can find it useful in the future and I know real-world experiences is good feedback to the maintainers of the project.

Overall, it was a really positive experience, a big thanks to the open agriculture staff for having such accessible plans, an open forum, and creating an affordable way for the community to build food computers. All my interactions with you all have been really positive and I was able to get my questions answered quickly. Keep it up!

Pre-build

My background

I am fortunate that I am a software engineer, which came in handy when installing the software (more on that later). I don’t have very much hardware and electric experience, this was my first time soldering things on my own (more on how I messed that up to come). I also have almost zero experience with growing plants. I grew basil on my apartment balcony once, and it wound up overgrowing since I didn’t maintain it.

So I am pretty green (ha! because plants, get it?) in all areas except the software. I mention this because I think its good to note you really don’t need much electrical, botanical, or software experience to build a MVP food computer.

The parts

I stuck mostly to the Bill of Materials when buying parts. Some of the parts were out of date or out of stock so I had to get alternatives. I’m pretty sure I got everything from home depot, lowes, and amazon.

If I get time I’ll dig up my order history and receipts and come up with my BOM, but really the BOM should be hosted in github or a place that the community can suggest edits to keep up with out-of-date materials. If anyone is stuck on getting a part just reply to this post and I can tell you what I bought.