Need help starting all this

Hi all.
I know this post seems a bit stupid.
but I really couldnt find a detailed full map to start building a food computer and an indoor hydroponic farm.
I am a programmer and enthusiastic about agriculture.
I just dont know where to start. i need some headsup.

p.s: Dear moderators, i know this post might sound lame, if so just go ahead and delete it. thanks in advance.

Open Agriculture Foundation Chapters
Costs of all parts?

Hi Mann23, welcome to the forums!

I think it would be best to start with reading the OpenAg wiki and going through the basics about the Personal Food Computer. Afterwards I think it would be best to go through the decide for yourself what you want to go for (The Minimal Viable Product on a budget or more like the Personal Food Computer). It could also be interesting to read through the top forum posts. I myself am rather new here as well so I’m sure others will know better than me though, but it’s a start :slight_smile:

I agree with @Riggi - there’s certainly a lot of options.

1. What brought you here / got you interested in OpenAg?
  2. What is your goal of building a Food Computer?
  • Grow Food
  • Learn how to build indoor farm systems
  • Hobby/Side Project
  • ____?
  1. What’s your budget and amount of time that you can dedicate to this project?

Personally, I would recommend starting by growing plants. It’s easy to get carried away with the technology and forget about the plant part, which in my opinion is the most important.

thank you both. @Webb.Peter and @Riggi

@Webb.Peter well first of all, my country will be confronting water resource problems very soon. And traditional agriculture has the biggest waste in water resources.
So that’s my first intention.
I believe indoor hydroponics can help a lot in this matter.
I heard about OpenAg in one of BBC programs and it got me thinking ( your first question )