Problems while setting up the project on macOS Mavericks (10.14)

Hi - I am new to openAg and am trying to setup the project software on my mac (it is the latest, current OS).

However, the install script doesn’t run out of the box; I try running the install scripts individually but there is a recurring problem with python3.6 & pip3.6 packages. iptables is not a supported package as far as I can figure out.

My question is this: Has anyone tried to work with a similar setup and run into issues? If anyone has set this up on a mac; please do reach out!

Thanks,
Utkarsh

The OSX support is still a work in progress, sorry for the issues you found. I made a few changes and it now builds / runs on my mac running 10.14.3.

Thanks for the revert @rbaynes. This’ll make my life simpler. I was getting into running an ubuntu/centos image on top of osx to get around this. Desperation?

Anyways, am about to start a new build diary, hopefully my first emulation of openag brain gets me up&running.
Thanks again!

Great! Nice to have someone working on the bleeding edge with me. I am working on the drivers I need for a FT232H cable this week. The chip translates USB to I2C so we can talk to the hardware we build. I’m hoping there is a good python driver for it and I won’t have to resort to using FTDI’s C library.
https://www.digikey.com/products/en?keywords=768-1106-ND

Sounds interesting, are you logging this somewhere? Plan on checking in later today/over the weekend.

I updated my build to pull the changes, however the requirements.sh is breaking (have attached the stack). Lmk if you get some time to go over it (might get tedious from the naive approaches I will use).stack.pdf (85.0 KB)

My first guess would be that you are running python 3.7. I have only tested on Python 3.6.8.

Yes, that’s correct. I am building this on py37. I have made the changes to get this up (namely hardcoded py & pip versions) - this line is giving me errors:
Creating postgres user…