Used Laptops as a Computer Brain

Dear friends,

I’m an architect who think about my project called “Building as a Capsule - BaaC” which is a building that occupants produce most of their needs inside the building.
I think in the future we will work less than 4-5 hours a day inside our buildings.

So, is it possible we use old laptops (and/or mobile phones) as a computer brain and control sesors and everything with them?

Your question is very hypothetical and broad in scope. It would be difficult for someone to give you a meaningful answer.

It sounds like you want to learn how to automate a building. Perhaps you could try reading about building automation controls:

You might also want to try looking for a forum that is more about architecture and buildings. There may be some architects here, but mostly people use this forum to talk about hydroponics and aeroponics.

Thank you @wsnook, this is my mistake, didn’t clarify well.

I thought myself maybe it be possible we develop agricultural computer brains with used laptops/mobile phones.

Yes, it might be possible. But, that doesn’t mean it would be practical, reliable, or cost effective. It might. It might not. A lot would depend upon the skills of the people who built and maintained the control systems, what kind of access they had to tools and spare parts, and so on.

maybe also check out Angelo Vermeulen’s BIOMODD projects across the world.

Wow, thank you @thiemehennis

A used laptop could be used to run the logic, but you still have the need for GPIO pins. There are custom boards that break out this functionality, but when they cost more than a Raspberry, I am not sure what is gained.

Good point. I agree.

Old laptops with real RS232 serial ports and parallel printer ports can be interfaced to a variety of useful external hardware with cheap discrete components like resistors, diodes, transistors, and capacitors. But, if you have more modern laptop that relies on USB, the lack of GPIO pins is an obstacle.